Business — Banking — Management — Marketing & Sales

Consultancy & Training Learning Cycle

Category: Training

It is very important to know which are the phases during a learning experience. This will help both: trainer and trainee to go smoothly during the process.

Starting from the basics, Dr. Deming stressed the four steps or phases for every improvement or learning process.


The PDCA cycle also called Deming cycle shows clearly that during each learning experience, the participants pass or at least should pass through 4 steps in order to discover something.

People react to the world as they see it. Knowledge alone will not change behaviour. Therefore learning ought to consist of both theory and experience.


People are brought up to rely on Deductive Learning (going from a general rule to specific). But they also should learn using Inductive Learning (from specific to a general rule).

Preferably theory should come after experience. Whatever the topic in focus is — look at the total situation.

« ||| »

Tagged as:

Comments are closed.